History

The inspiration for the HelpMeSee campaign began in the late 1970s. It was then that Albert L. Ueltschi dedicated himself to fighting blindness in the developing world. He was convinced that training of local providers so they could serve their communities was the answer.
 
As founder and leader of FlightSafety International, the world’s foremost aviation training company, he thought that he had the skills and dedication to make a difference. Today, FlightSafety is part of Warren Buffett’s Berkshire Hathaway. FSI is a global leader in aviation simulation technology training, providing more than 3,000 individual courses for 135 aircraft types, using more than 300 simulators to serve customers from 154 countries.
 
history-icon01@2x.png

begin in the late
1970s

history-icon02@2x.png

3,000 
individual courses for 135 aircraft types

history-icon03@2x.png

300 
simulators to serve customers 

 

Al also co-founded and led Orbis International for 30 years. A global nonprofit best known for its “Flying Eye Hospital,” Al Ueltschi lead the effort to outfit the original McDonnell Douglas DC-8 airplane and later, it successor the DC-10 wide body. For the first time, volunteer ophthalmologists could reach out to all corners of the globe to treat avoidable blindness of all types and to strengthen eye care practices in developing countries through training.
 
Al realised that while the Flying Eye Hospital programme continued to do great work, it lacked the scalability needed to provide access to the millions of cataract blind, which is, by far, the single largest cause of treatable blindness.
 
It wasn’t long into the new millennium when he began investigating the possible use of high fidelity simulation technology and other aviation instructional techniques to train highly skilled cataract specialists to solve the problem of cataract treatment access. Al co-founded HelpMeSee with his son, Jim Ueltschi, with a singular purpose: to eliminate cataract blindness.
 
He brought to HelpMeSee more than a half a century’s experience in simulation-based aviation training to successfully design and develop a virtual reality eye surgical simulator to train to proficiency 30,000 cataract specialists.
 
Al passed away in October 2012, but not before signing the Giving Pledge along with Bill Gates and Warren Buffet. As of this report, together with the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, the A.L. Ueltschi Foundation and the Jim Ueltschi Foundation collectively contributed the start-up cost to successfully launch the HelpMeSee campaign to eliminate blindness caused by cataract.

我們的歷程

助視會的靈感始於20世紀70年代末。當時, 阿爾拔特 (Albert L. Ueltchi) 獻身於發展中國家的治盲工作。他堅信培訓當地醫護人員、讓他們回饋本區患者, 是治盲的上上之策。

 

作為「飛安國際」(FlightSafety) - 全球權威航空培訓公司的始創人及領導者, 他深信憑著其技術和決心,定能有所作為。今天, 「飛安國際」是華倫·巴菲特 (Warren Buffett) 其下公司之一, 也是全世界模擬航空技術培訓的領先者: 以300多部模擬器, 為來自154個國家的客戶提供超過3,000項、涉及135款機種之培訓課程。

 

history-icon01@2x.png

始於20世紀
70年代末

history-icon02@2x.png

3,000項 
涉及135款機種之培訓課程

history-icon03@2x.png

300 多部
模擬器

 

阿爾拔特亦是創立並領導國際奧比斯( Orbis International ) 達30年的創始人之一。其著名的全球性非牟利機構「飛行眼科醫院」, 在阿爾拔特的領導下、先後為原來的McDonnell Douglas DC-8 航機及繼任的DC-10航機進行改裝。從此,志願眼科醫生能走遍世界各地, 治療各類可及早避免的致盲眼疾、並加強發展中國家的護眼技術培訓。

 

阿爾拔特意識到, 儘管飛行眼科醫院一直持續其極具意義的工作, 但對於全球數以百萬的白內障患者來說, 服務伸展範圍仍然不足。

 

踏入千禧年後, 阿爾拔特開始研究以高度仿真、虛擬等航空技術,來培訓優秀白內障專家來解決白內障問題時, 阿爾拔特與兒子吉姆(Jim Ueltschi)為著一個目標 - 消除白內障致盲,而共同創立了助視會。

 

他為助視會帶來了逾半世紀、以仿真技術為基礎的豐富經驗, 成功設計及研發出模擬現實的眼部手術器,可足以培訓30,000名白內障醫護專才。

 

阿爾拔特卒於2012年10月,但其生前,並未忘記與比爾。蓋茨和沃倫。巴菲特一起簽署的捐贈約書。根據約定,比爾及梅琳達。蓋茨基金會、阿爾拔特基金會及兒子吉姆基金會, 共同貢獻啟動資金以成功開展助視會計劃, 矢志消除白內障致盲。